Author Topic: Numbers of Wheels Versus Records Held  (Read 1735 times)

MarkV

Numbers of Wheels Versus Records Held
« on: May 13, 2008, 09:54:54 AM »
I realize there are numerous classes out there for motorcycles and cars, but are there instances where, for a given displacement, a 'car' (meaning it has 4 wheels) has a higher speed record than a motorcycle?  If you were attempting to set a record for a certain displacement and had a clean sheet of paper to begin with, would there be advantages to building a streamliner with 2, 3, or 4 wheels?  I'm thinking that a 4-wheeler might be more stable, but a 2 wheeler might have less rolling resistance.  Would a 3-wheeled machine be a good compromise?  I realize this is a broad question, but remember it's a clean sheet build (and I'm a newbie!   :-D)

Thanks,
Mark 

Offline RichFox

Re: Numbers of Wheels Versus Records Held
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2008, 10:12:36 AM »
Ypu might compare Rick Yacoucci's car (G/BFS) records against simular sized motorcycle records.

Offline Sumner

• Global Moderator
  • Blanding, Ut..a small dot in the middle of nowhere
    • http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sumner/sumnerindex.html
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2008, 11:21:32 AM »
Ypu might compare Rick Yacoucci's car (G/BFS) records against simular sized motorcycle records.

Rick 352 mph  (under 2000cc) average, but I think a 360+ one way.  The bike streamliners are knocking on the door though with Denis's (3000cc) 350 average and Mikes (3000cc) almost 350 run and Sam's (1100cc) 355.  I think the bikes will go faster, but saying that they might run out of tire and traction and the car might have the advantage, but for now Sam is the king in regards to displacement/mph.

It would be interesting if Jack/Rick were to build a 2 engine (3000 cc) 4 wheel-drive streamliner.  I think then in the 3000 cc and under they would rule, but and there are so many variables they are probably about out of tire now also.