Author Topic: Window replacement  (Read 1487 times)

Offline thommysgarage

Window replacement
« on: June 19, 2022, 03:28:55 PM »
  I have been running a 77 Firebird at ECTA meets for a few years. The front and side windows are lexan, but the rear window is the original glass. The car runs in the A/CGALT class and I plan to run at World of Speed this year. I know that the glass needs to be removed, as the record is 246+ ( my car won't go that fast). Is it Ok to replace the rear window with sheet metal instead of lexan? I have seen photos of altered cars that look like this has been done. I know that I can't flush fit it or change the profile of the body. It would help to keep some heat out of the car as well as being secure and sturdy. Just wondering.

Offline MRK

Re: Window replacement
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2022, 08:11:05 PM »
  I have been running a 77 Firebird at ECTA meets for a few years. The front and side windows are lexan, but the rear window is the original glass. The car runs in the A/CGALT class and I plan to run at World of Speed this year. I know that the glass needs to be removed, as the record is 246+ ( my car won't go that fast). Is it Ok to replace the rear window with sheet metal instead of lexan? I have seen photos of altered cars that look like this has been done. I know that I can't flush fit it or change the profile of the body. It would help to keep some heat out of the car as well as being secure and sturdy. Just wondering.