Author Topic: Air Brakes  (Read 9402 times)

Offline maguromic

• http://www.barringtontea.com
Air Brakes
« on: June 18, 2010, 12:47:39 AM »
Instead of posting on the build diary I thought I would start a new thread on the subject.  I have looked at all the old post and Freud’s comments on Marlo’s liner on the subject.

We are thinking of designing some air brakes for the rear engine roadster to use when it runs the big engines. Don’t know much about airbrakes, but I am a student of WWII aircraft that used them plenty. I know it would have to be on the centerline and apply the pressure below the Cg- that Cg issue is the real head scratcher…  I don’t want to pull the air brake and do a back flip to prove it really works.

I would like to hear others thoughts on the subject.  Tony
« Last Edit: June 18, 2010, 12:51:21 AM by maguromic »
“If you haven’t seen the future, you are not going fast enough”

Offline Dynoroom

• Global Moderator
Re: Air Brakes
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2010, 12:58:12 AM »
I don't know anything but am thinking out loud.

Malcom & Donald Campbell ran air brakes on their cars. Malcom's 1935 car had them on each side of the car right in front of the rear tires, and they were different widths left to right and open upward on a hinge. This car ran 300 mph.

Donalds 1964 car had them at the very back. They opened outward. He ran 400 mph.

The space shuttle has brakes that open from the vertical stablizer.

The only point I'm making (I think) is that not all of these apply load below the Cg.
Michael LeFevers
Kugel and LeFevers Pontiac Firebird

Without Data You're Just Another Guy With An Opinion!

Racing is just a series of "Problem Solving" events that allow you to spend money & make noise...

Offline maguromic

« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2010, 01:44:57 AM »