Author Topic: 2-barrel carb v 4-barrel carb  (Read 3516 times)

Offline Loose Goose-Terry#1

• Terry
  • When in doubt, GAS IT!
2-barrel carb v 4-barrel carb
« on: July 28, 2007, 09:59:54 PM »
:-D I am in the process of designing an intake manifold that will adapt a small supercharger to a 1500 Honda Goldwing. I am debating over which way to go when it comes to the carb. I plan on running alky and am not sure what cfm would be best for B'ville. Would a 2-barrel be better than a 4-barrel? Budget is pretty small so I can't get too wild. Would Holley be less expensive and easier to tune than a down draft Weber? I don't think cv carbs would work but since I have never tried them before, I can't say for sure.

Any help would be appreciated.

Terry
If I had it all to do over again...I would!

Offline russ jensen

Re: 2-barrel carb v 4-barrel carb
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2007, 12:18:59 AM »
1500 divided by 16.3875 = cuin=91.54 x rpm divided by 3456= cu ft required for 4 stroke eng-{think this is correct from memory}8000 rpm should need  aprox 212 cuft. A small holley 2brl should do it- think they are 350's..
« Last Edit: July 29, 2007, 12:21:44 AM by russ jensen »
speed is expensive-how fast do you want to go?-to soon old & to late smart.

Offline JackD

• NOBODY'S FOOL
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2007, 12:30:41 AM »
An S+S side draft carb has all the parts and pieces to make all the HP you need and can be set up for gas and high % of nitro and anything in between with available parts.
They are around on the used market for cheap and S+S can help you with anything else you need. :wink:
"I would rather lose going fast enough to win than win going slow enough to lose."
"That horrible smell is dirty feet being held to the fire"

Offline Stainless1

• Administrator
  • Robert W. P. "Stainless" Steele
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2007, 09:14:19 AM »
Fuel flow is the important consideration for the salt, for blown and fuel applications.