Author Topic: Slow Car Fast  (Read 7895 times)

Offline matmospheric

• New folks
Slow Car Fast
« on: December 29, 2021, 09:06:16 PM »
Hello there.

I have been considering a streamliner project for some time, and I've decided to pull the trigger. The CAD has reached a point where I'm happy to start cutting tubes and spending money. I wanted to also start a build diary on here so I could post progress and hopefully get some constructive feedback on the project.

I'm building a streamliner car with a 500cc (K class) engine. Naturally aspirated gas, though we may explore a turbo and methanol later.

I've always enjoyed hot-rodding slow cars with small engines. So naturally, it seems like a fun project to take the smallest engine class and try to go as fast as possible. It's more fun to drive a slow car fast than to drive a fast car slow; so why not take the slowest engine class and make it go as fast as possible.

I'm an automotive engineer with some experience racing and fabricating, but I also understand the value of experience and I know these things are often much more difficult than they may seem. So I humbly present my design, and hope for a constructive and fun conversation that will help me navigate the unknowns and, more importantly, the unknown unknowns.

I'll post some more detailed photos later this week and dive into some design specifics.

Offline Stainless1

• Administrator
  • Robert W. P. "Stainless" Steele
Re: Slow Car Fast
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2021, 10:36:49 PM »
What tank is in front of your feet... the best answer is probably intercooler water... not fuel... sealing one firewall is hard enough....

Have you spent time looking at other liners and talking with the guys running them....

Oh and most don't think 200 MPH is a slow car... all the K records except fuel are over 200... maybe small motor car fast
Looking forward to seeing your build :cheers:
Stainless
Red Hat 228.039, 2001, 65ci, Bockscar Lakester #1000 with a little N2O