Author Topic: Barn Cat - Supercharged CL175  (Read 4485 times)

Offline John Lawrence

• New folks
Barn Cat - Supercharged CL175
« on: December 29, 2021, 12:33:07 PM »
Hi everyone,

This is my build diary of my supercharged 1968 CL175. I am new to land speed racing, so any advice is welcome and encouraged.

BACKGROUND:

Back in June of this year (2021) a coworker of mine told me he had an old motorcycle in one of his barns that he wanted to scrap, but he would give it to me if I was interested in another project. He knew it was a Honda, it didn?t run, it has no title, but he didn?t have anymore information than that. Later that night he sent me a picture of the bike and it turned out to be a 1968 CL175 (sloper), and it actually looked to be in pretty decent shape for sitting in a barn for God knows how long. I wasn?t sure what I would I do with the bike, but I couldn?t pass up a free motorcycle.

Once I received the bike, I quickly realized the engine was in rough shape. It was locked up completely. The cam shaft was seized in the head, and the right piston was seized in the cylinder, among some other issues.

Long story short, since the bike had no title, and it was going to need quite a bit of work to get running, why not do something different with it. After doing some research , I decided it would be cool to build a bike for Bonneville. It looked like the records for supercharged 175cc bikes for few and far between (for modified production). With that, I got to work.

CURRENT STATE OF THE PROJECT: