Author Topic: Who's got the best body?  (Read 10041 times)

Offline KATIE

• New folks
Who's got the best body?
« on: March 25, 2021, 06:54:50 AM »
I'm new to all of this , so please bare with me. It would appear that AERO is just as important as power. But when using a stock, unaltered body, which would be the best one to start out with. I find it amazing that the 1953 Studebaker holds so many records. And what makes "The Beast", 500, So, so fast?

Offline manta22

• What, me worry?
Re: Who's got the best body?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2021, 11:28:26 AM »
I was going to post a picture of the very young Anita Ekberg (hey, she had the best body when I was young) but I thought I'd let someone else go first.  :evil:
Regards, Neil  Tucson, AZ

Offline Speed Limit 1000

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2021, 01:01:56 PM »
 :cheers:
John Gowetski, red hat @ 221.183 MPH MSA Lakester, Bockscar #1000 60 ci normally aspirated w/N20

Offline PorkPie

• think fast.....always
« Reply #3 on: March 25, 2021, 03:13:33 PM »
Hey, boys,

I think this question was serious.

- about the Beast....the answer is simple.....sheer engine power.....

- about Studebaker....be aware the most of this Studebaker record holder were bodywise not anymore in the original street shape.....
  more or less slightly modified inside the rules of the class they run

- for a production body class....it's not only the outside shape of the body
- it's also how the air goes through the body....means...the air which goes through the front end inside the engine compartment and how can this air escape
- it's also how the air can go under the body...and here not only the floor panels....through to the rearend of the car

- another issue, aerodynamic devices which can be added to the body to the rules of the class
- some body can gain a big advantage from so devices....other nearly nothing....