Author Topic: Scale modellers questions  (Read 4955 times)

Jantrix

Scale modellers questions
« on: December 01, 2006, 04:05:18 AM »
I probably put this in the wrong section earlier. I'll try it here, since I'm asking questions about older cars.

Hi there. My apologies, my interest doesn't lie so much in land speed racing and such as much as building the cars in scale. So I'm hoping you'll tolerate my presence and my silly questions. I'm a 38 year old hobbyist lliving in Jax, Florida. I'm currently building a rather unusual land speed race car.

This is a 56 T-bird with nearly two scale feet removed from centerline. The wheels will be open outside the body, and the wheel wells filled. I'm trying to build something that looks like it may have been running in the 60's or 70's but is unusual and eyecatching. Here's my questions.

1. The Ford 427 SOHC "cammer" engine. Widely used "back in the day" among the 1/4 mile crowd. Was it widely used in land speed racing? This is my intended engine. My only other alternative is a Ford 312 with a centrifugal supercharger. Which would be more likely used back then?

2. Coolant. 1/4 milers often ran without any sort of coolant supply/recirculation. Salties run much longer distances. Were they run with a radiator or some sort of water tank/pump? I've seen many cars with the grills comletely paneled in, hence my question.

3. Windscreen. This car will be open cockpit. Many such cars I've seen don't seem to run with a windscreen. Why would or would not a car use a windscreen?

4. Assuming this car is steel bodied, running the 427 with a supercharger, and running on pump gas, what catagory would this car run in, that might be displayed on the car (ie. AA/G albeit a drag catagory, but you get my meaning)? I've looked at the catagories, and to tell you the truth I can't make heads or tails out of it. A best guess would be fine, if anyone gets that nit-picky with my build, they can drop dead.