Author Topic: Newcomer looking for some direction and advice  (Read 5409 times)

Offline wheelspin

• http://www.alchemymotorsports.net
Newcomer looking for some direction and advice
« on: August 05, 2006, 12:29:49 AM »
I am certain my questions have been previously addressed in this forum, but I thought I would try it anyway. This is my first Bonneville experience; although, I am not new to racing. I have been a professional racecar engineer for 12 years, and I have a few questions for all you old timers with regards to Land Speed racing. I won't be able to finish my Motorcycle ( I plan to run in 1000cc P-P)  in time for speed week, but will be there for the World Finals.

Here is my list:

General stuff:
1. How long are you officially timed when running? Do you have to maintain your speed through the entire 5 miles or is 1 timed mile enough to get your time officially recorded?
2. Do you have to qualify before officially running for a time? Do you have to qualify to run in the World Finals?
3. How does licensing work?
4. Where can you camp with a motorhome? Is there a curfew on the salt? Can you set up shop in the pits and stay the night there?
5. What should I expect in tech? What should I expect in tech if I set a record? (Are they going to completely tear me down?) What tools are needed, etc.?
6. What should I bring for the race (obvoiusly shade, water, etc.)? I am looking for suggestions for things that you always wish you had brought but didn't think of.
7. How many runs per day should I expect?
8. How long do you have between runs?
9. Are you allowed to bring 4 wheelers ( ATV) for the wife and kids to spectate?
10. Are you assigned a number ar can you chose your own number (Motorcycle number)?

Technical stuff: