Author Topic: driving technique  (Read 6248 times)

Offline robin dripps

• New folks
driving technique
« on: July 20, 2006, 10:30:22 AM »
From what I can gather from reading posts here and what I saw last August, we should just assume that at some point our roadster will spin.  We, have tried to do everything to help prevent this but it is a roadster after all.  So, what I am trying now to understand are the techniques for driving on the salt that might help prevent this in the first place and then if I find myself in a spin to know how best to handle the situation.  This is probably a very amateur question, but then I guess I am an amateur and hope those of you with more experience can help.
Robin

Offline DallasV

driving technique
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2006, 02:36:49 PM »
Robin, We have had our roadster for over 25 years, made a hundred passes between 200 and 250, and never spun (knock, knock, knock). The things I can tell you about a roadster is if you try to put too much horsepower down at once it wants to swap ends, and if you run out of horsepower she'll start to hunt. Try to aim her about 1/4 mile ahead of yourself, and don't drive faster than you're guardian angel can fly. As far as a spin goes I've never spun but most the people I've talked to say the best thing to do if you spinning is just let go and let it happen, then try to un-pucker. I'm sure there are people on this board with better advice on a spin than me.
Good luck and good choice....Roadsters Rule.

Dallas
Records or parts, I didn't come all this way not to break something.

Offline Sumner

• Global Moderator
  • Blanding, Ut..a small dot in the middle of nowhere
    • http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sumner/sumnerindex.html
driving technique
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2006, 04:36:06 PM »
Quote from: DallasV