Author Topic: Lakester Project  (Read 6068 times)

K38

Lakester Project
« on: July 13, 2006, 01:10:27 AM »
I am a car loving complete newby.  I have been interested in LSR racing since seeing the Spirit of America At the Museum of Science and Industry in Chicago when I was a kid.  I also saw the Blue Flame in Akron when a group went to see the Soap Box Derby.  Talk about sensory overload for a car guy!  I would like to build a belly tank type Lakester that would get me to the 200 MPH club eventually.  I'm a school teacher, so I'm not rich and I realize the complexity of the project, including the long list of rules and safety devices.  Where does a 46 year old in Del Rio, TX start.  I have a couple of friends who are machinists and drag racers.  Any ideas would be great.  My son is studying Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M and I would like to involve him (straight A's in Calculus....Scary)  There is no time limit and I don't want to take any short cuts.

Thanks,

Dwight

Offline Dynoroom

• Global Moderator
All the Best to You
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2006, 01:46:53 AM »