Author Topic: speedweek logistics - help needed please  (Read 8838 times)

Swift33

speedweek logistics - help needed please
« on: September 13, 2012, 02:51:12 PM »
Hi , this is my first time on the forum  , so a quick intro , im Stuart Swift , live in the UK and i am currently preparing my bike for 2013 speedweek to coincide with my 50th birthday (well i'll be 50 in 2013 anyway)
I recently lost both my parents and was left a small amount of money , enough to fullfill a dream...........to take me and my bike to Bonneville!

I have many questions , so please be patient if they have been asked before.

My main concern at the moment is regarding logistics and i have been pointed to the forum by Dan Warner.

I have found a company in the UK who will ship out my bike ahead of me , but where exactly would i send it ? Is there a holding compound or storage facility that is used for speedweek ?

Next , what sort of transportation would suit my needs best to enable me to transport me and my bike. Do the vehicles stay on the salt flats during speedweek?

I'll just keep it to 2 questions for know , i'm sure they will be lots more.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

many thanks , Swift33 (stu)

Offline RichFox

Re: speedweek logistics - help needed please
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2012, 03:53:04 PM »
Perhaps someone in the Salt Lake area or even Wendover will allow you to ship to them. You should have a pickup and at least one crew member to get you and the bike and trailer it back after a run. You will need a tarp to park on in the pits and anything else (tools, shade, fluids) with you on the salt. Or maybe someone will welcome you into their pit. You may, and I do, leave your bike on the salt overnight. I expect you will get offers of assistance here soon

Offline edweldon

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2012, 04:04:29 PM »
Stu - I see Rich Fox posted some good general comments.  Read his before you get into the specifics that I've written below.