Author Topic: Bonneville water shed  (Read 5338 times)

Offline Steve Walters

Bonneville water shed
« on: February 20, 2012, 01:46:17 PM »
Thought I would bump the meeting off the USFRA threads since it is now out of place. 

I don't know why I assumed that the Salt Flats got water from Salt Lake from the Wasatch mountains drainage, must be cause it was all one lake at one time, or cause when you look at it on a map it all looks like it connects together.   But I got corrected by a KIWI,  :-o  I remember the pumping project, so I guess Salt lake would be under water before the Salt Flats got any wasatch shed.  Could any body explain to me how much drainage there is to Lake Bonneville, and does it just disapate into the aquapher?

Steve   
I've been from Bone to Blackfoot, but still just a Newbie here.

Wa's Bad Banana
B/CGALT

Offline 55chevr

Re: Bonneville water shed
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2012, 06:49:42 PM »

Offline kiwi belly tank

« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2012, 10:01:37 PM »
Yep, that's right. It does not drain, it just gets "sucked to death".  :x
  Sid.

Offline Dean Los Angeles

« Reply #3 on: June 14, 2012, 10:30:27 AM »
34,363 square miles drain into the Great Sale Lake Basin. It is an endorheic basin, or terminal basin (no outflow).
The Jordan, Weber, and Bear rivers feed the Great Salt Lake. The West Desert is where the salt flats are located.