Author Topic: When to Race at Bonneville  (Read 4705 times)

Offline donpearsall

• http://soundappraisal.com
When to Race at Bonneville
« on: March 03, 2005, 12:53:00 AM »
I am getting a Hayabusa ready to run at Bonneville, but as I am new at this, and have never been to Bonneville, I am confused about which event I should attend.

Speed Week?
 BUB?
 USFRA?

What are the advantages to each?

Thanks in advance
550 hp 2003 Suzuki Hayabusa Land Speed Racer

Offline MadDuck

Re: When to Race at Bonneville
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2005, 02:40:00 AM »
Been to USFRA and SCTA, friends at Bub and I am opinionated and biased.

We go to SCTA for the 6.5 days of racing. Pretty much a guarantee of at least three good salt days.  Hotel rooms are real hard to get and prices are higher.  Experience  of speed week is very special.  You will get fewer runs in as there are many more competitors.

Bub pays cash if your best.  Short meet Bikes only seems to be well recieved by the folks that were there.  We didn't run but there were real organization problems which they will still be wroking thru.  Real potential,  AMA so any records set will not be in offical "SCTA record book.

USFRA is a four day meet and tech people seem to be the same as SCTA Tech, real good and a lot of help.  Saftey is always important.

For a first attempt I would go either SCTA or USFRA just for the tech inspection and the "helpful advice" from the other racers that have been there before.  Show up and run, it will be worth all the effort.
Fly on RI Rocket #27

John Beckett

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2005, 09:24:00 AM »
  For a first attempt I would go either SCTA or USFRA just for the tech inspection and the "helpful advice" from the other racers that have been there before.  Show up and run, it will be worth all the effort.
Good advice. Speed Week is the biggest event of the season. World of Speed is a little more laid back and maybe a good place for a beginner to get his feet wet.

JB

Offline JackD