Author Topic: Exhaust Flow and Aero  (Read 125463 times)

Offline MLSE

• New folks
Exhaust Flow and Aero
« on: June 27, 2011, 12:53:49 AM »
I am looking for some help from someone who KNOWS what the effect of discharging an extreme volume of hot exhaust flow (1000 h.p. worth of exhaust flow) underneath the chassis of a production class sedan over 200 mph? I am not an engineer but it would seem to me that with the air already being packed under the car (due to the lack of a front air dam) that adding the exhaust volume has to have some sort of significant effect, either good or bad. Does this add to overall lift (and drag) on the chassis or would the exhaust flow displace cooler denser air beneath the car and reduce drag?

Also since "exhaust" in the rule book sates only that it "can be modified. must point away from fuel lines etc, away from the salt and past or away from the driver" (and could be discharged through the hood without changing the body contour) what would be the effect on aero over 200 mph - of the same high volume, high temperature flow passing over the sedan or coupe production body?  Many big time turbo drag race cars are now just shooting the turbo discharge straight up through the hood.

Sure hope somone out there knows something (or everything) about this subject .

Thanks in adcance for any help you can give.

Offline manifest

Re: Exhaust Flow and Aero
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2011, 07:21:56 AM »
I have been pondering this alot too.  Running the exhaust out of a two 4in. collectors through the car will be tough in the Datsun we are building (slowly).  Shooting it straight out of the lower fender will look cool but will it hurt the aero? Could always turn them up through the hood like a tractor pull truck! Anyone that can comment on this with some knowledge will help MLSE and I out tremendously.

Offline SPARKY

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2011, 09:16:06 AM »