Author Topic: Dry sump vs. wet sump  (Read 7520 times)

Offline old chevy truck

• New folks
Dry sump vs. wet sump
« on: January 14, 2011, 02:01:03 PM »
I am planning a new engine for El Mirage and Bonneville. I need advise regarding a dry sump vs wet sump in terms of engine life and durability. Some have advised me against using a wet sump citing problems such as elevated oil temperatures and oil starvation etc. resulting in engine failure. I would like to try a dry sump system but it will entail significant reengineering of the steering, exhaust and chassis. Is there a wet sump system that will get us to the 5 without leaving parts on the course.

A second thought, as a newbie I am frequently amazed at the brilliant discussion that takes place on this forum  - e.g. the recent posts regarding wings on comp coupes and altereds. There are a lot of really smart people out there cleverly disguised as hot rod builder. Hats off to all!  Thanks, OCT

Offline panic

• My tech papers
Re: Dry sump vs. wet sump
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2011, 02:22:56 PM »
What engine?
What chassis?
What class?
How much money do you have?

Offline dw230

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2011, 10:25:25 PM »
Probably a Chevy pick up of some sort judging by the guys nick.

DW
White Goose Bar - Where LSR is a lifestyle
Alcohol - because no good story starts with a salad.

Don't be Karen, be Beth

Offline hotrod

• Black Horse photo
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2011, 11:36:08 PM »
Call the folks at Peterson Fluids and see what they have to say for your engine.

They have a new pump which is supposed to be a major improvement over conventional dry sump pumps.
They also can supply you with all the other pieces parts like aeration tanks, lines and fittings.
They supply some big name race teams so they know what it takes to keep an engine alive.

http://www.petersonfluidsys.com/pumps.html

Larry

Offline old chevy truck

• New folks
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2011, 01:14:23 PM »