Author Topic: cooling----radiator??  (Read 4798 times)

Offline speedwagon

• New folks
cooling----radiator??
« on: November 19, 2010, 08:01:19 PM »
hi, i'm new to LSR and have some topics that i need advice with. I'm working on a 1986 vette for the Grand Touring class. I've read bits and pieces about water tanks. What i would like to learn more about is how to cool a LSR. Do you run a radiator in front of motor as usual or do you run a tank directly to engine and circulate it without a radiator? I will be running methanol so it  should be cooler than a gas engine . my motor is a small block chevy 358 cu. in SB2. if any one could throw some advice my way would be greatly helpful.  thanks, jim

Offline dw230

Re: cooling----radiator??
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2010, 02:36:02 AM »
In the GT class you must use a radiator. The class is in the Production Category and must meet the overall rules for the category.

You cannot run methanol in GT class, it is a gasoline only class as stated in your rulebook

You cannot use a SB2 engine in a GT car. The engine must be available in an automobile available from the same manufacturer as the body.

DW
White Goose Bar - Where LSR is a lifestyle
Alcohol - because no good story starts with a salad.

Don't be Karen, be Beth

Offline speedwagon

• New folks
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2010, 09:58:03 AM »
thank you , i better go back and read rule book a LOT more.   thanks very much,  jim

Offline speedwagon

• New folks
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2010, 10:01:57 AM »
Hi, just me again, do you have any suggestions on what CLASS i should persue with this combo ?????    jim

Offline maguromic

• http://www.barringtontea.com
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2010, 11:04:58 AM »
Most likely you could fit into A, B or C-FMS (Fuel Modified Sports) depending on how big you built the SB2.  Tony
“If you haven’t seen the future, you are not going fast enough”

Offline speedwagon

• New folks
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2010, 11:12:56 AM »