Author Topic: A few questions from a new guy...  (Read 2944 times)

e3pres

A few questions from a new guy...
« on: July 29, 2004, 09:12:00 PM »
Hey guys,
      First off, let me introduce myself. My name is Adam Thomas. I recently graduated from college, and now that I finally have some steady income, I would really like to build a vehicle to take to the salt. I am an engineer so I have some technical knowledge, and I'm a long-time Corvette owner and I've done some pretty serious automotive work (engine/tranny swaps, suspension/steering/brake work, etc.). I like to think that I'm pretty realistic about my abilities and know that I cannot and probably should not attempt to build a car to run 200+. However, I am interested in building a small displacement truck to compete in the Modified Mid/Mini Pickup (M/MP) Class. I currently own an S-10 as a daily driver and I think a similar truck would make a good platform from which to start.
      I have purchased an SCTA rule book and everything in it seems fairly straightforward (I say that having not start building the truck yet  :D  ), but I do have a few questions.

First off, I would like to make sure that the roll cage bars can protrude from the top of the cab down into the bed. Also, if that is allowed, are 'sails' either required or allowed to cover the triangular area left by such bars (like what is seen in the NASCAR Craftsamn Truck Series)?

Secondly, I assume that the 'unaltered in height' requirement of the class applies to any chopping, channelling, sectioning, etc. of the body, not lowering. Is this correct? And if so, what lowering methods are allowed? Drop spindles, cut springs, blocks, etc.? Is notching of the frame allowed?

Thirdly, is the stock Hotchkiss style rear suspension (dual leaf springs) like is found on a Chevrolet S-10 stable at high speeds? If not, what is a popular, stable choice? Four link, truck arms, or other?