Author Topic: Fuel Pressure setting  (Read 4731 times)

Offline Steve Walters

Fuel Pressure setting
« on: July 25, 2010, 01:24:08 AM »
 :? This might seem stupid butt has anybody else had this problem?
I set my fuel pressure regulator on 7 PSI with the fuel pump on and the engine not running, it stays there until I start my engine, then it starts to climb up to 17 PSI at idle.  If I try to turn the regulator down at idle it stays at 17 PSI, until I shut every thing down, then when I turn the fuel pump back on it is to low.  Its a magnflow 500 pump, 10 an to regulator, two 8 an's from regulator to Holly 850 DP, the pressure gauge is on the regulator.  The bypass is off of the pump to the fuel cell.

Steve

I've been from Bone to Blackfoot, but still just a Newbie here.

Wa's Bad Banana
B/CGALT

Offline hotrod

• Black Horse photo
Re: Fuel Pressure setting
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2010, 06:42:43 AM »
Check your voltages at the pump terminals under both conditions.
If you have an alternator, you might be delivering considerably more voltage to the pump with the engine running than with the engine off.
Also check for a high resistance hot lead or ground on the wiring to the pump. It might not carry much current engine off, but with full system voltage (assuming alternator puts out 13.8+ volts) you might over power the high resistance and deliver adequate voltage to the pump engine running.

Electric fuel pump fuel flow rate, can be significantly affected by supply voltage variation.

Larry
« Last Edit: July 25, 2010, 06:46:03 AM by hotrod »

Offline thundersalt

• www.americanrvservicecenter.com
« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2010, 11:00:15 AM »