Landracing Forum Home
November 23, 2017, 06:24:06 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News:
BACK TO LANDRACING.COM HOMEPAGE
 
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  


(Note: Donations are not tax deductible)







Live Audio Streaming and Archives of Past Events
Next Live Event: TBD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: O2 Sensor(s), Shift Lites, Data logging and Clip-ons in Production Class  (Read 1810 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
MiltonP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Age: 55
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 492





Ignore
« on: May 24, 2010, 06:16:34 PM »

Looking for confirmation on the following interpretations before I spend money on gear I can't use in Production Class.  For bikes, though it may be interesting if the first three are allowed in Prod for cars but not bikes;

O2 sensor(s):  I am guessing not allowed as it would not 'appear' stock

Shift Lite:  I am guessing no due to the appearance issue again

Data logger:  I am guessing they are ok as long as they are hidden from view

Clip-ons:  The rule allows different handlebars within a set of specs but I am not clear whether that applies to swapping clip-ons.  I believe that is ok, within the same specs, as long as the bike originally used the same clip-on style/mounting point.  In other words, no swapping handlebars for clip-ons.   I also believe clip-on changes are not allowed at BUB in Prod from what I saw in the AMA rulebook.
Logged
55chevr
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2222





Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 06:24:23 PM »

Clubman bars will just about duplicate clip ons on most bikes and they mount the same as factory handle bars ...
Logged
MiltonP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Age: 55
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 492





Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2010, 06:53:06 PM »

My bike, a 2009 Kawasaki Ninja 500, came stock with a clip-on style covered mount.  I purchased the Woodcraft EX500 specific replacement but am not sure which orgs would allow that swap in production class.  The stock one has a plastic cover so it would look different.

By the way, is anyone else getting an error when making a post?  The post is getting saved but you get a mesage and then have to click back to the forum home screen to continue.
« Last Edit: May 24, 2010, 06:56:44 PM by MiltonP » Logged
Seldom Seen Slim
Administrator
Hero Member
***
Offline Offline

Age: 69
Location: Skandia, Michigan
Posts: 11812


Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2010, 07:35:01 PM »

I'm having the same glitch -- and it's probably with the company that's hosting the site -- 'cause I can't get an email through to him to report the problem.  I expect that means he knows darn well -- 'cause nothing will be getting through to him.  He'll see my note to him via his other service.
Logged

Jon E. Wennerberg
 a/k/a Seldom Seen Slim
 Skandia, Michigan
 (that's way up north)
2 Club member x2
Owner of landracing.com
MiltonP
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Age: 55
Location: Winchester, VA
Posts: 492





Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2010, 07:59:03 PM »

Thanks Jon,  I figured you were already on top of it!
Logged
Warp12
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 210





Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2010, 03:05:02 PM »

Milton, I am pretty sure that the 02 sensor and data logger won't be a problem. I think this may be clarified in the rule book?

As far as a shift light, you could wire it into an existing gauge cluster light (such as a high beam indicator), and it would be perfectly legal as long as none of the associated wiring and switching mechanisms were visible. At least that is my understanding.  smiley
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines
Simple Audio Video Embedder
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!


Google visited last this page June 12, 2017, 04:43:00 AM