Author Topic: Supersonic car!  (Read 6063 times)

stu

Supersonic car!
« on: October 20, 2005, 08:28:58 AM »
I am a student working on the conceptual design of a car to travel 1000mph (Mach 1.3). I am working on the structural design and logistics of the car.

What would be the major considerations to take into account when designing the car's structure, it terms of strength, weight, material, vibration etc.?

Also.....can anyone help me out with details of how to get this type of car re-fueled and turned around within the 1hour time limit after its first run.....not one of the most technical parts but it still has to be done!?

Cheers!

landracing

Supersonic car!
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2005, 08:53:32 AM »
Personally I would buy the books from Breedlove put at in 1965, then I would buy the Thrust SSC book that the Team put out. Tons on info there. The thrust SSC book has alot of trials and tribulation on what they have done. Just priceless information and more info then probably what you are going to get off this board. You can also follow the current team building a Mach I plus car at http://www.landspeed.com

Have fun.
Jon

Offline Dynoroom

• Global Moderator
Supersonic car!
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2005, 11:41:34 AM »
Jon is correct stu, those books are a great resource and will be able to cover the topic in more detail than we can type here. We'll be happy to answer (as best we can) any questions you might come up with as you go along.
Michael LeFevers
Kugel and LeFevers Pontiac Firebird

Without Data You're Just Another Guy With An Opinion!

Racing is just a series of "Problem Solving" events that allow you to spend money & make noise...

stu

Supersonic car!
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2005, 12:08:51 PM »
Cheers guys, i f.found the books! I may have some more questions for you in the near future.

Offline smitty2

• Worlds fastest miniature Pachyderm.
supersonic car
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2005, 01:25:09 PM »