Author Topic: Restoring the Burke Bros Avanti  (Read 33008 times)

Offline Avanti Dan

• Going to Bonneville to fill my Bucket List item #4
Restoring the Burke Bros Avanti
« on: April 05, 2010, 12:45:10 AM »
A fellow named Scott asked me to post some pictures and tell the story of the project that I am working on. In September of last year by request I posted my "Bucket List" on the Racing Studebaker's web site. Yes this is a real "Bucket List" like in the movie. I have been battling cancer for over four years and am not sure what the future holds. After three tumors you can't help but wonder. There were only four items on the list and the last one I felt was the least obtainable. I wanted to drive a Studebaker on the Bonneville salt flats to experience speed flat out and for more than 7 or 8 seconds (drag racer in the past). We should never underestimate the guys and gals who love Studebaker's and even more love making them go fast. I first thought I would be using this Harry Hoffman built '53 coupe.

When that deal feel through I thought it would just die right there. Then I got a message from a fellow who had rescued an old Bonneville car off of eBay. He offered to loan me the car so that I could go to Bonneville. The car was the #90 Bill Burke Avanti. I have assembled the history of this car to some degree and it truly is a "World Famous" Bonneville car. It was featured in a 1997 documentary by the BBC. I was floored and now as I learn just what type of machine I have been loaned I feel honored to be given the chance to restore this vintage machine to it's racing glory days. Here's a picture taken the first time I saw the car in December of last year.