(Note: Donations are not tax deductible)

This is a public forum. The opinions expressed here don't
necessarily reflect the feelings of The Folks That Run The Site (that's us)
unless we explicitly say so, ok?


Forum's been "upgraded".
Things will look a bit different.
A *few* posts might have gotten lost in the crossover.
PM bobc with problems, or post in "Website Suggestions".

Author Topic: inertia switch  (Read 3216 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline revolutionary

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 530
  • Location: Windermere, FL
inertia switch
« on: March 23, 2010, 06:33:12 PM »
Hey if anyone needs one I hit the junk yard and picked up a bunch with pigtails.  I have two left - if you need one please let me know asap and I'll get it in the mail.

OR if you like the yards, just find the trunk of about any mid 90's or newer ford sedan and you can remove it with either a 5.5mm or 10mm socket depending on the car.
Breaking Wind #9614
  ECTA Record AA/BGALT 214.8
  SCTA Bonneville PB AA/BGALT 237.4
Breaking Wind "Spirit of Effluvium" #451
  SCTA Bonneville Record SC/BF100 48.931

Offline racer x

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 578
  • Age: 56
  • Location: East Coast
  • Dark Horse Racing 10-B
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2010, 07:50:30 PM »
I might go to the yard just to use my 5.5mm socket :-D
Thank you to all the volunteers

Offline 1212FBGS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2532
  • Age: 59
  • Location: Vista, Ca
    • http://www.motobody.com
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2010, 09:29:55 PM »
i need one big time for the car liner..... how much ya gotta have for one?
kent

Offline jimmy six

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2576
  • Age: 75
  • Location: SoCal
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2010, 11:29:01 AM »
Inertia switch is not the only option. I'm opting for the oil pressure cut out. Higher current rating
First GMC 6 powered Fuel roadster over 200, with 2 red hats. Pit crew for Patrick Tone's Super Stock #49 Camaro

Offline Cajun Kid

  • Rajun Cajun Racing E/CGALT 5690
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3189
  • Age: 57
  • Location: Winston Salem, North Carolina
  • Venable Rod's & Racing #805 Studebaker, #806 Ford
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2010, 12:23:11 PM »
A Higher Current rating would mean better than a prior rating ???

Ok I am just having fun,,,,, :cheers: :cheers:
ECTA Record Holder Maxton
E/CBFALT, E/CBGALT, E/CGALT, E/CFALT, A/CGALT, C/CGALT, D/CGALT, C/CBGALT, B/CBGALT, C/CFALT
OHIO
B/CGALT, C/CGALT

LTA Record Holder and 200 Club Member
A/CBFALT, B/CBFALT, C/CBFALT, C/CFALT, C/CGALT,   E/CGALT, E/CFALT

Fastest Standing Mile at Ohio  203.343mph
Fastest Standing Mile at Maxton 196.967mph
Fastest Standing 1.5 Mile at Loring 213.624mph
Fastest Standing Mile at Loring 204.109mph

http://s261.photobucket.com/albums/ii43/cajunkid5690/

Blog    www.venablerodsandracing.com
email   venableracing@gmail.com

Offline thundersalt

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 922
  • Age: 59
  • Location: orangevale, ca
    • www.americanrvservicecenter.com
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2010, 01:01:39 PM »
If you are using a relay on your pump I would wire an inertia switch between the relay and dash on/of switch. I wonder how the inspectors are going to test them?
916 AA/GRMR 
2017 AA/FRMR Bonneville Record holder
2018 AA/GRMR El Mirage Record holder
El Mirage 200 MPH Club
Drivers/Owners: Brian & Celia Dean

Offline Joe Timney

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 507
  • Age: 69
  • Location: Stuart, Florida
    • Delaware Chassis Works
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2010, 02:42:58 PM »
A VERY BIG HAMMER!!! :evil:
Joe Timney
Retired President of ECTA
President of Delaware Chassis Works
www.delawarechassisworks.com

Offline White Monster

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 269
  • Location: Central Florida
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2010, 03:55:59 AM »
A VERY BIG HAMMER!!! :evil:

I'll bring my 16-pound sledge ....
 :wink:
Be safe, go fast, have FUN !

Offline racer x

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 578
  • Age: 56
  • Location: East Coast
  • Dark Horse Racing 10-B
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #8 on: March 25, 2010, 05:11:32 AM »
I am a europeon car mechanic .I have a 20 lb maul if you need it. (Helps with the plastic clips)
Thank you to all the volunteers

Offline relaxedphit

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 314
  • Location: Archer Lodge, NC
  • Organ Donor...refrigerate after opening
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #9 on: March 25, 2010, 05:52:14 PM »
Eric-- for a guy trained in watch repair, a 20 lb hammer seems a bit of overkill. That hammer would have bent my old Spridget in half. Can't wait to see you and Steve swing those things at something I don't own! See y'all soon.

Offline racer x

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 578
  • Age: 56
  • Location: East Coast
  • Dark Horse Racing 10-B
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #10 on: March 25, 2010, 06:25:46 PM »
Lets see how many ways to test an inertia switch .We can hit it  drop it shoot at it . Heck this could be fun. See you in two weeks.
Thank you to all the volunteers

Offline revolutionary

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 530
  • Location: Windermere, FL
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2010, 08:06:02 PM »
i need one big time for the car liner..... how much ya gotta have for one?
kent
nothin. just send me your address in pm.
Breaking Wind #9614
  ECTA Record AA/BGALT 214.8
  SCTA Bonneville PB AA/BGALT 237.4
Breaking Wind "Spirit of Effluvium" #451
  SCTA Bonneville Record SC/BF100 48.931

Offline LSR Mike

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 537
  • Age: 63
  • Location: Dublin, Ohio USA
  • First Pass-June 25, 2000; Muroc Dry Lake
    • Mike & Paula's Site
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2010, 08:06:15 AM »
I just picked up 2 this weekend and put one in the Truck(gotta have a spare!). Thanks to this thread I was reminded I hadn't done that yet.

Now the interesting thing is the one I took out of a Lincoln took a 5.5MM socket, and were bolts. The one in the Taurus next to it took a 1/4" socket and were sheet metal screws. Note keep the mounting bolt's/screws.

I tested mine before mounting it in it's final resting place. :-D
Mike M.
BNI/ECTA
ECTA Record Holder/Former Bonneville Record Holder

Offline Ron Gibson

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 769
  • Age: 78
  • Location: Omaha NE
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2010, 09:01:40 AM »
IMHO I think an oil pressure switch in addition to an inertia switch, would work.
 I don't know whose, but on youtube there is a video of a lakester rolling. After it stopped moving, it kept running for what seemed like a very long time. All the time running, with a leak, could have been spraying a large amount of fuel.
On Ford cars, the inertia switch controls a relay. I'm wiring in a 50 amp relay for ignition and fuel pump. It just might save some expensive engine repairs.
The inertia switch, from what I can tell, is bi-directional, front to rear only. No sideways or vertical trip, so needs to be installed in the same orientation as on the original vehicle.

Just my $.02
Ron
Life is an abrasive. Whether you get ground away or polished to a shine depends on what you are made of.

Offline Dan Stokes

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
  • Age: 72
  • Location: Wilmington, NC
Re: inertia switch
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2010, 08:27:14 PM »
I have a Ford unit on mine and I'll have a spare with me if someone needs it.  It seems to work no matter where I smack it - I don't think the spring knows from where it's hit.  It does, however, need to be installed button UP.

Smart Racing Products offers a race car version for what it's worth.  Their website has installation tips.

Dan
Wilmington, NC - by the sea

ECTA idiot, Bonneville volunteer