Author Topic: LSR Tire Recommendations Needed  (Read 8967 times)

Offline hotrod22557

• New folks
LSR Tire Recommendations Needed
« on: March 22, 2010, 07:37:52 PM »
Hello All.

I am an absolute virgin to LSR but I am building a Comp Coupe car....because it is on my bucket list!  I want to go 250 at Bonneville before the checker falls.  I am an engineer working in NASCAR Sprint cup so I have a lot of resources available and have been in the roundy-round racing game for a long time. (BORING!)

The car is coming along nicely-all tube chassis, IFS, all the latest NASCAR safety stuff. Lots of dumpster diving after work.  I am calling in a lot of markers to help out with the build-especially all my aero buddies.  Aerodyn is 1.2 miles from the house and a bunch of gear heads work there too. Maybe a midnight shift or two to help sort out the body.

I am ready to buy tires and wheels now. I have talked to the NASCAR Goodyear racing engineer and he says that the Drag  24.0-4x15 front runners will be fine for 200 MPH +/-  while I shake the thing down and before I bolt in some real steam!  For rears I do not have a clue and need some direction.

I am looking at extreme performance street tires with a Y rating (186 MPH) like the Continental DWS supercar tire.  I will be running Maxton before I head west in 2011. Some friends tried running CUP tires at Maxton but could not hook them up.  I think an aggressive open tread will help with grip on the salt and at nasty old Maxton.

Thanks for listening to my ramblings but I sure could use some good advice.

Thanks again!
 :cheers:

Offline Glen

• Global Moderator
  • SCTA/BNI timer 1983 to 2004, Retired,. Crew on Tur
Re: LSR Tire Recommendations Needed
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 08:22:48 PM »