Author Topic: Polycarbonate Windows Lexan  (Read 11272 times)

Offline Geo

Polycarbonate Windows Lexan
« on: February 13, 2010, 03:41:26 PM »
Hi all,

I am getting ready for warm weather and plan to replace the rear quarter windows and windshield with polycarbonate Lexan.  A few questions may be odd, but I’m new to polycarbonate windows.  Looking through the rule book section 3.U.  How does using polycarbonate apply to 5.E.3 Grand Touring Sport “the stock windshield may not be removed or lowered”?

I would like the joint to be watertight.  Can I glue it in or is bolting the only way?  If glued in using a flexible product made for glass windshields then the joint will be watertight.  If bolted in then what is suggested to seal the joint?

I plan to use three windshield supports on the inside from the top of the windshield to the bottom, NASCAR style.  Any thoughts on placement?  One in the middle.  Then move towards the curve, with the curve being strong, placing another right in front of me inboard of the curve on the flatter center section of the windshield.  And the matching third on the passenger side.

How about placing the windshield retaining tabs at the point I have the internal braces?  This will allow me to bolt through the outer retaining tabs, body and then inner support brace.  Making a sandwich, with the Lexan as part of the sandwich or left out? 

I think the roof rails (4.X) will be too far outboard to meet the windshield supports allowing a combination of roof rail and retaining tab.  No holes have been drilled yet.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Geo

Offline Milwaukee Midget

• Global Moderator
    • Milwaukee Midget Racing
Re: Polycarbonate Windows Lexan
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2010, 05:08:04 PM »
I'll add to Geo's question - how does one put a curve in Lexan or Poly?  I've never been down this road. 

I guess I'm fortunate with a windshield frame that is completely removable and can be disassembled.