Author Topic: Class questions  (Read 5610 times)

Calpantera

Class questions
« on: January 12, 2010, 12:39:36 AM »
OK total noob here guys so bear with me. Not even sure if this is the right place to post this question but here goes.
Would the car in the attached pic run in streamliner because it is a purpose built race car with covered wheels or would it be lakester. I know it would not be very competitive as the body style produces lot of downforce and that is just wasted power in a staight line, but we are looking to just get in the game initially and figure we can use it to license and get a 150, then once we get the bug we will want to get competitive. We already know how to make the power.

Additionally does anyone know of any LSR Mazda Miatas running out there? Would a Miata run as a roadster or a sports?
I read some conflicting info in the SCTA site so I am waiting on my rule book in the mail and hope that clears them up.

Thank you for any information you can provide
Bill

Offline RidgeRunner

Re: Class questions
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 07:40:09 AM »
Streamliner, covered wheels.

Study the rules thoroughly before making big plans for this car in LSR, particularly roll cage area........

Not to discourage you but often it is faster, easier, and less expensive to build a special construction [liner, lakester] as well as cars in some other classes to the safety rules from scratch.

Calpantera

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2010, 08:45:38 AM »
The reason I was thinking about using it in a class at all is that I have heard that you get a lot more runs in at an event when running in a class as opposed to running just for speed. I will go over the rules more once I get the rule book.
Eventually the goal for the team is to build up a J/BGMS and also run it in G/GMS, at least that is the initial thought.

Thanks for the input.
Bill

Offline Stainless1

• Administrator
  • Robert W. P. "Stainless" Steele
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2010, 09:16:22 AM »