Author Topic: Racing backwards?  (Read 8823 times)

twinspin327

Racing backwards?
« on: November 07, 2009, 12:51:50 AM »
I'm new to land racing. I'm still selecting a class to compete in. I am reading the 2009 rule book. I see the SCTA rule book say in the 5.B Vintage class that "Bodies shall be mounted in a conventional manner..." However, it doesn't say that in the 5.C Classic class. Can I race the car in reverse, not reverse in the transmission, but race backwards? I am serious about this question. In addition, I haven't located any information in Section 4 Definitions explaining "forward movement?"
I think I have an idea for a good shot at a LSR record. I have always been told that I think and color outside of the lines. I'd need to confirm this info before I start one of my projects.

Offline Nortonist 592

• http://www.artfv.com/design/fashion/
Re: Racing backwards?
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2009, 01:21:17 AM »
I think if you start at the lights and run to the start line it will be OK.
Get off the stove Grandad.  You're too old to be riding the range.

McRat

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2009, 01:26:23 AM »
Great question.  Since next year HANS devices will be required, call HANS and ask about their Linda Blair collection.

Offline SPARKY

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2009, 03:56:04 AM »
NO---I don't think so--that been tried before and hence the RULE
« Last Edit: November 07, 2009, 03:57:40 AM by SPARKY »
Miss LIBERTY,  changing T.K.I.  to noise, dust, rust, BLUE HATS & hopefully not scrap!!

"Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."   Helen Keller

We are going to explore the racing N words NITROUS & NITRO!

Offline Stainless1

• Administrator
  • Robert W. P. "Stainless" Steele
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2009, 09:11:20 AM »