Author Topic: Motorcycle class?  (Read 11102 times)

Offline Cafe Freak

• New folks
Motorcycle class?
« on: August 10, 2009, 12:42:48 AM »
I am new to the site but have been interested in building a landspeed bike for a while. I find the classes for bikes a little confusing so I am hoping some of you can tell me where this build will fit.
Modified 75 Yamaha rd 350 laydown frame, not purpose built
Rz 350 bottom end with Banshee 350 top end carburated
modified TZ 750 fairing and custom tailsection, partial streamline
FZR wheels and tires
Ram air carb box with wastegate..
This is where I am headed as I am a 2stroke fan with a garage full of RD parts and a few vintage racers....Thanks in advance for any info and bear with me I am new to the L.S game but like all of you I am interested in going fast.......Doug

Offline Nortonist 592

• http://www.artfv.com/design/fashion/
Re: Motorcycle class?
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2009, 01:37:54 AM »
You picked a bad time to ask.  Everyone is at Bonneville except me.  But you should fit into MPS/G.  Modified Partial Streamlining Gas.  That is working on the assumption that the frame is a Yamaha.  The rule states for modified the frame and engine must be from the same maufacturer.  The frame can be modified quite a bit and still be within the rules.  If you have a rule book read it closely.  If not order one from the SCTA.  Again, assuming you plan to run El Mirage or Bonneville.  If you are back east and plan to run Maxton or Loring only contact the ECTA for their rule book.  They are different.  Ask all the questions you want.  Good luck with the build.  Post it in the build forum.
Get off the stove Grandad.  You're too old to be riding the range.

Offline Cafe Freak

• New folks
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2009, 01:51:56 AM »