Author Topic: The Best Material and process to make a Brake Disc  (Read 8028 times)

Offline oz

• Geordie Power.
The Best Material and process to make a Brake Disc
« on: October 12, 2008, 12:04:48 PM »
I am having a few problems with the braking system on the CBR i wont go into detail as it isnt that important but the cure seems to be a larger Disc being made for the rear end,I have the facility to get one punched on a CNC Punch but distortion of the Disc may be a Problem maybe not If I can get one Punched what would be the best material to have it punched from Stainless steel /Mild Steel/High Carbon Steel,
or would it be better to have one spark eroded/Laser cut so it stays flat.
Cheers Oz
Newcastle born and bred a City built on Coal and Steel and a people built of stronger stuff

McRat

Re: The Best Material and process to make a Brake Disc
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2008, 12:58:57 PM »
Never made brakes from scratch, but I was a machinist for a couple decades in a previous life.

Unless you buy ground stock, sheet metal or raw stock is not flat enough to use "as is", plus you want to "descale" the surface by removing at least .010" from each side if it's raw stock.