Author Topic: Kenetic Energy Recovery Systems  (Read 23875 times)

Ratliff

Kenetic Energy Recovery Systems
« on: July 08, 2008, 10:35:33 AM »

Suppose if a few hundred pounds of ballast added to a car were instead of inert dead weight a flywheel? Suppose before leaving the starting line the driver stored energy in the flywheel by using the engine to spin it up to 8,000 or 10,000 rpm. It wouldn't change the cubic inches, or the induction method, or the type of fuel. The current rules say nothing about it.

Offline sanger351

• New folks
Re: Kenetic Energy Recovery Systems
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2008, 12:13:56 PM »
I am new to LSR but not mechanical things.  A flywheel is a very good tool to smooth out loads and power pulses with all of its inertia.  I believe that the required additional drive devices, both power up and power to the wheels, not to mention the emergency braking system would make this concept unfessiable in an accelerating car.  It would need some sort of CVT trans that would allow higher car speeds as flywheel rpm decreases and would have to apply the power without blowing the tires off the track. Without a power source it would quickly become a drag on the system.  Lastly can one imagin the saftey concerns of a flywheel failiure of a flywheel large enough to do what is suggested.  Assuming the sharpnel is contained the car would be tossed about like a rag doll.

Now I have thought about using this idea for an ultimate mileage car contest held locally.  The flywheel could help accelerate the car from a stop and then maintain the desired speed from deviations in the track, wind, etc. thus improving mileage.

Ratliff

« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2008, 12:55:39 PM »
Kenetic energy recovery systems are being added to F1 cars next year. However, as usual in Formula One, a standardized system is being used that's so pasteurized and homogenized it's not going to be the power boosting "passing gear" many people first envisioned.