Author Topic: Normally Aspirated Bikes in Supercharged classes at Maxton  (Read 19640 times)

Offline JackB750

Hi All. I'm still pretty new to this whole LSR and ECTA thing so forgive me if I seem a little confused at times. Still, I have a question about non-supercharged bikes bumping into the supercharged classes (/BF, /BG). In the ECTA 2007 (and earlier I suppose) rules under the engines section (Ref VI-5 A 6 and 7; page 57) it says that "mechanically or exhaust driven supercharger is PERMITTED" I can see how this would allow an N/A bike to run there without fitting any turbo or supercharger hardware. However, in the (heavily changed) ECTA 2008 rules the rule book says (ref section 7.J.7 and 7.J.8; page 82) that a "supercharger or turbocharger is REQUIRED and must be mechanically or exhaust gas driven and must pressurize the intake system above atmospheric pressure." This seems to fairly clearly preclude competing in the forced induction classes without the required supercharger hardware. However I have seen, as recently as this past weekend, normally aspirated bikes running in the forced induction classes. Am I missing something? Is this maybe just a Maxton precedent that we're hanging on to? Thanks in advance for any input/insight and thanks Keith, Jon, Nancy, Joe, Tonya, Donna and everyone else that works so hard to keep the ECTA program ongoing. This past weekend was a blast and I look forward to participating for a long time!
Jack Broomall
Project 750 Assault
jhbfly@yahoo.com
PerformanceWerx-Chasing Motorcycle Land Speed Records ;

Offline Dean Los Angeles

Re: Normally Aspirated Bikes in Supercharged classes at Maxton
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 01:47:53 PM »
Rules are there for a reason. Nah, nobody ever cheats, do they?

I vaguely remember somebody at Bonneville years ago running a heater blower from his truck (no boost) to get around the rules. "Pressure required" is to avoid that kind of thing.