Author Topic: Leather Race Suit Recommendations?  (Read 6468 times)

Offline hombre

Leather Race Suit Recommendations?
« on: February 13, 2008, 12:37:06 PM »
Newbie here... I'd like to run at Maxton to work on top speed of my modified Triumph Rocket 3. I've got 20 year old leathers that need replacing. Any recommendations on a good leather race suit (with hump)?

Yes, I've joined the ECTA... and am awaiting rules update.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2008, 12:40:48 PM by hombre »

Offline DahMurf

• 2006 Hayabusa Mutt
    • Twin Jugs Racing
Re: Leather Race Suit Recommendations?
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2008, 01:06:53 PM »
Let's start with a couple questions to get you in the right direction.

Do you think you'd ever like to run at Bonneville? If so and you need to buy anyway I'd recommend getting a set that meets their specs.

Budget. You don't have to tell us your dollar amount but it can make a difference if you should be looking for used, retail or special order.

If you think you'll be running over 175 then the extra armor needs included. Personally I think the armor is a good choice regardless of speed.

One piece, two piece?

Give us an idea of your initial thoughts, in addition to the hump, and we'll collectively give you some choices. BTW, I'd recommend a removable hump as I believe SCTA considers that streamlining and forces you into the PS class. If you can't remove it, you can't run unfaired. You do want to keep that option open even if you never use it.

Welcome aboard!
Deb
Miss you my friend :-* - #1302  Twin Jugs Racing
ECTA 200MPH club@202/Texas 200MPH club@209/Loring 200MPH club@218
                         Official body guard to the A.S.S. liner :lol:

Offline hombre

« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2008, 01:21:06 PM »
Thanks, Deb! I talked with Todd... he sent me here for recommendations. He did say I need a 200 MPH suit.