Author Topic: roadster weights ?  (Read 15756 times)

Offline Roadster943

roadster weights ?
« on: March 03, 2004, 01:52:00 AM »
I am in the later stages of building a D/G roadster. I have most of the mechcanicals in. Now I need to start thinking about ballast.What am I looking for as far as total car weight? Do I want it even front to backside to side, or??? I do understand I need to keep the weight LOW!! Thanks Roadster943
Land Speed Racing, The sheer joy of spending every dime you've got racing for nothing but glory. David Freiburger

Offline Roadster943

Re: roadster weights ?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2004, 01:59:00 AM »
Whoops  Sorry Joe I got this in the wrong spot. I sorry, I am new to this and Obviously not too good at it . I have no idea how to get it to the right spot now that I started this. I hope to do better next time. Roadster943

<small>[ March 03, 2004, 01:02 AM: Message edited by: Roadster943 ]</small>
Land Speed Racing, The sheer joy of spending every dime you've got racing for nothing but glory. David Freiburger

Offline Bob Beatty

« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2004, 04:55:00 PM »
Roadster923, you are right about keeping any ballast low.  You also should make sure it is well secured. One of the tricks of keeping these cars pointed the direction you want to go is the "dart concept".  The dart concept means you keep the center of gravity (the weighted point of the dart) ahead of the center of drag (the feathers).
 We used to think we had to run a bunch of balast in a roadster - we ran ours at about 3800# (220 MPH, C/GR).  Many of the faster roadsters today seem to be 2500# to 3000#. We'll be looking forward to seeing your new toy on the salt.
Bob Beatty

There is no such thing as too much horsepower
 338.954 MPH
 B/BFL

Offline LSR Mike

• First Pass-June 25, 2000; Muroc Dry Lake
    • Mike & Paula's Site
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2004, 09:33:00 PM »