Author Topic: Choosing my gears wisely  (Read 12181 times)

Offline Milwaukee Midget

• Global Moderator
    • Milwaukee Midget Racing
Choosing my gears wisely
« on: November 07, 2007, 01:22:43 AM »
Newbie here, with a gearing question.

I'm working on an MG Midget to compete in the I/GT class.  My vintage road race buddies think I'll be able to get peak power out of my engine at about 7000 RPM, and it should wind to 7800 without throwing a shoe.

With a 1 litre 5-port 4, should I be building the engine for a wider torque band and going with numerically lower gears, or taking advantage of the high RPM potential and gearing the car for peak power at the traps?  My calculations, with 25 inch tires, at 7000 RPM with 3:90 gears, gets me about 130 mph. 5400 RPM with 3.08 gears will get me the same speed, but with those gears, I suspect I'm losing some much-needed torque multiplication from the rear-end.  The Midget is small, but it is a bit of a brick and there's a lot of wind resistance to overcome.  And despite years of racing development of the Austin "A" block, 105 horse is about the most anybody I know has been able to get out of them.

Any thoughts?
"Problems are almost always a sign of progress."  Harold Bettes
Well, I guess we're making a LOT of progress . . .  :roll:

Offline maguromic

• http://www.barringtontea.com
Re: Choosing my gears wisely
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2007, 02:19:56 AM »
What gears are you running in the trans?  Do you plan on running a overdrive in your trans?  All this will have a lot to do with optimizing your final ratio and your engine potential.  The best way is to buy the gear split software from Land Racing and play with it.  You can see the graph and the effects it has from different gear combos before you settle on transmission gears or the rear gears.  Good luck on your project.
“If you haven’t seen the future, you are not going fast enough”

Offline 1212FBGS

• http://www.motobody.com