Author Topic: Motorcycle Modified Class Questions  (Read 12877 times)

Offline Chaulkdust

Motorcycle Modified Class Questions
« on: October 29, 2007, 08:38:02 PM »
My name is Ron Pavlak from West Bloomfield MI and Homosassa Fl. Being retired I bounce back and forth trying to avoid the snow. I am working on a project to bring to the salt flats in 2008. I have read the rule book several times and have gained a lot of great tips/information from the site. Also, appreciate Jon's hard work and have remitted a check. I have a project 1965 CB160 Honda that I saved from the junk yard and I'm in the process of setting it up to bring in 2008, to run in the 175cc class. I've been into restoring old Honda for many years, but I am new to racing. Thought it best to go slow, as I don't bounce well anymore.

The bike will use a small Turbocharger, since I can't use the stock exhaust system I guess I'll need to run in the Modified Class/BG. I'd like to stay in the Modified Class and not be considered Partial Streaming or Altered. I do not have any fairings on the bike. Just wonder if mounting the Turbo in front of the engine rather than behind it would cause any Class problems (streamlining)? I don't see how it would, but after reading all the posts about rule interpretation/changes I'm just getting paranoid. Also, I plan on using a cafe seat with the little hump on the rear, hopefully this would be OK as well? Does the seat height rule of 36" apply to the seat surface or the top of the hump (highest point on the seat)? I plan on boring out the motor to 175cc's from the stock 160cc's, but I believe this is OK and that you can bore .020 inches over your class limit if needed/desired.

Frame is stock and the motor does go with the frame, didn't plan on a rear fender, and have replaced the stock rims with aluminum rims. Got the info from the site on Riding Leathers/Helmet/Chain Guard/Kill Switch/
Toggle Switch/joining SCTA/BIN/getting a number/damper etc..