Author Topic: New Guy  (Read 5592 times)

Offline wulfpack

• New folks
New Guy
« on: September 03, 2007, 10:59:15 AM »
Hey guys I am new to LSR and I am very interested. I have a few questions that I spent awhile searching for. My first question is what body style class would I be in? I my exterior is all factory, so would that be Production coupe? The car I will be bringing is my Daily Driver 02' VW GTI (337) 1.8T rated at 400whp. I am assuming that I will be in the G in engine class. This car is capable of 150mph or more so what kind of safety items am I required. Thanks in advance guys depending on the requirements I hope to see you in the September Speed Runs.

Offline Glen

• Global Moderator
  • SCTA/BNI timer 1983 to 2004, Retired,. Crew on Tur
Re: New Guy
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2007, 11:25:01 AM »
Wulfpack, welcome to the forum. This is the place for answers to questions. One thing we usually ask is where you are located so if we know someone in your area that can help it's to your advantage. JD o Dan W.or one of the others will be on board to help with the class info. The SCTA is out of rule books and are already working on next years. As far as safety equipment everything is required just like a full blown race car. There are some lesser requirements but you need a rule book to assure you comply.Good luck on the project.
Glen
Glen
Crew on Turbinator II

South West, Utah

landracing

« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2007, 11:55:51 AM »
wulfpack,

Welcome to the forums, I would suggest that you attend the September meet, look at the cars, take bunch of pictures to help with your build, and for sure find a rule book... I wouldn't ask to many questions until you have had a chance to look it over. There are alot of things that need to be done and it's hard to be summed up in a couple sentences.

Good luck and we will see you there.
Jon

dwarner

« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2007, 06:10:58 PM »
Glen,