Author Topic: Ecotec Lakester: Pint-sized hot potato  (Read 2704 times)

Offline Greyboy

Ecotec Lakester: Pint-sized hot potato
« on: December 18, 2006, 10:22:38 PM »
I am a model car builder and newbie to this site. I am here because (1) I have always had an enduring love of LSR since childhood, from 'Challenger One' forward and (2) have always participated in the world of motorsport through my model making. I feel honored to have done pieces for the Indy Hall of Fame Museum, the Donington Collection in England, Jim Hall, John Menard and a few others.

Controversial Subject Department:

My current modeling subject is the Ecotec Lakester (room goes quiet). There's a model car invitational championship in Phoenix in 2010 (yes 4 years away, we're slower than real-car builders sometimes) that I hope to enter my scratchbuilt version of it in. From reading threads on this site I know that the whole GM/LSR/corporate money thing is a hot potato, but as a subject for modeling, the lakester is tasty.

I know it showed at SEMA in '03 and '04, and that there have been a couple of versions of it, aluminum wheels with urethane 'tirelets', black rubber tires with moonies etc, different bodywork, rear-shrouded, longtail, fin, no fin etc. I also noticed there were at least a couple of tube frames as well, the original grey one having a single front pushrod-actuated monoshock and the black-painted one that D. Edmunds ran which had two.

Does anybody know where these cars are now?

I called So-Cal and Tony Thacker is no longer there, replaced by Ryan Reed, who I have not yet spoken to. Then again, So-Cal may not even be the best starting point, I don't know. My goal is to photograph hopefully the latest version of it (shrouded butt, fin, double front shocks) in person, in detail.

Thanks in advance, I really like this site and will try to learn from it; and I certainly hope I haven't raised any hackles by dredging up the whole GM thing again,

Roger Yu

Offline PorkPie