Author Topic: hi i am new to land speed racing and message boards so please bear with me  (Read 8111 times)

Offline vw racer 64 bug

• New folks
hi i am trying to find info on air cooled vws i need to know about body types classes is there a record for a stock body sedan i would like to build a car but cant find any specific info on air cooled volkswagen any help would be appreciated one more ? is there any members of ecta in florida tampa bay area
« Last Edit: January 09, 2007, 07:48:33 PM by vw racer 64 bug »

Offline GeneF

hi i am trying to find info on air cooled vws i need to know about body types classes is there a record for a stock body sedan i would like to build a car but cant find any specific info on air cooled volkswagen any help would be appreciated

First thing to do is order a rule book from the SCTA as there are too many nuances to explain here. But in a nut shell a stock body bug would be in production class and depending on modifications could run in gas coupe, altered, comp coupe. Realisticlly a a/c vw is going to be in one of two engine classes- f (2-3000 cc) and g (1.5- 2000 cc) Be advised there are some very experienced vw racers in lsr, so if you are out to set records you will have some stiff competition.

FWIW- Back in the 70s I was heavily involved in vw oval racing midgets and mini stocks and drag racers, where I developed a love/hate relationship with the little dubbers.  :-D Anyway, I'm not into them anymore but still like to keep an eye on how the vw's are doing in other forms of racing. I'm sure you're aware of this site but in case you're not, theres tons of info here:http://www.thesamba.com/vw/

landracing

F-Production = 167.158 mph record
G-Production = 153.415 mph record

There is no specific place for air cooled motors. So you are in same class as water cooled that I am aware of... Head to head....

IF you can get into F/GC that is an open record...