Author Topic: Engine block question?  (Read 8589 times)

Offline RacerX

• New folks
Engine block question?
« on: November 23, 2006, 10:35:19 PM »
Hello all!  I have been racing for thirty years in other venues and find myself a complete novice!!    :oops:    I hope you'll all be kind and friendly to a newbie.   :oops:   I've been running different ideas in my head for classes to come and run with you.  My question is if I want to use a tall deck block in a V-8 and I have to use an intake spacer/adapter to bolt the intake on, will this break rule 4-N  
 Definition for engine swap  "An engine swap is the replacement of the original engine with one of a design, which was not available as a factory option for the particular car in question.  The main factors used in determining design differences are cylinder head bolt pattern,INTAKE MANIFOLD BOLT PATTERN and bellhousing bolt pattern. "  
Again if I use a tall deck block for more stroke  (to make a class displacement break) and I need an adapter to make the intake fit,  Am I getting called on it??     :cry:    Thank you all!   Jim
I like to cut my butter with a chainsaw, why do you ask?

Offline Sumner

• Global Moderator
  • Blanding, Ut..a small dot in the middle of nowhere
    • http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sumner/sumnerindex.html
Engine block question?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2006, 12:06:14 AM »
In my mind that is "not" an engine swap as the design is the same and the rules say "bore and stroke is not considered".

The items you mentioned can be used to determine if it is an engine sway, but that, in my mind, doesn't say they necessarily are used to determine if it is an engine sway.