Author Topic: Is BMST with no crew doable?  (Read 7013 times)

Offline drc42

Is BMST with no crew doable?
« on: May 13, 2019, 08:55:22 PM »
I have been talking about it for years and finally decided to make the trip out to the salt this August!  Being a newbie my plan is to keep it simple, most likely in the P-P 250cc class, or might possibly do some fiberglass work and do a simple MPS bike but still keep the engine/drivetrain mostly stock to keep it simple and reliable.  My goal for the first time out is to learn and have fun hanging out with like minded gear heads  :-D

I thought about the "run whatcha brung" but really want to get more of the full experience.

The one big question I have is about showing up alone with no crew.  Are there any rules regarding riding the bike to/from the race course from the pits?  Looking through the rules I don't see anything, but I thought I remember seeing something about that in the past (perhaps it is a rule for cars I am thinking of?).

I am certainly willing to help out with others in exchange for a hand when I need one (I figure that is half the fun) but wouldn't want to have to rely on that.

Offline wobblywalrus

Re: Is BMST with no crew doable?
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2019, 11:58:03 PM »
My children and wife have come with me and help me to work on the bike.  As for the runs, I do those alone.  The bike is ridden from the pits to the start line, run down the mile, and ridden back to the pits.  No crew should not be a problem. Make sure you have an attached sidestand so you can park the thing.

Offline comet

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2019, 02:43:22 AM »
It is doable DRC42
Hard work maybe, but doable. I am aware of at least one other rider that works as rider, crew chief, mechanic, cook, and pit crew. Always with a smiley face too.