Author Topic: Complete novice ...  (Read 9394 times)

txblackbird

Complete novice ...
« on: September 17, 2006, 11:46:18 PM »
This October will by my first attempt(s) at running any sort of timed speed trial - not sure what to expect, but I can't wait  :!:

Any words of wisdom are welcome ...  8)

landracing

Complete novice ...
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2006, 12:17:27 AM »
Hang on and pull the throttle.

read the rule book, then re read it again just to make sure....

Ask anything you have a question about before you leave for the salt... Easier to fix stuff at home then on the salt...

We all look forward to seeing you on the salt in october...

Hope for wind and some heat, to dry out the water thats left there from the WOS meet.

Jon

txblackbird

Complete novice ...
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2006, 10:58:47 AM »
Quote from: landracing
Hang on and pull the throttle.

read the rule book, then re read it again just to make sure....

Ask anything you have a question about before you leave for the salt... Easier to fix stuff at home then on the salt...

We all look forward to seeing you on the salt in october...

Hope for wind and some heat, to dry out the water thats left there from the WOS meet.

Jon

Jon - Thanks for the reply!  Didn't mean to mislead - I'm running the Texas Mile this October - I'm definitely not ready for the salt ...  :shock:  (although it is one of my goals)

Your words are still valid and do apply to the slab - My questions are starting to answer themselves just getting the bike prepared.  

You've been to the Mile - aside from the obvious tech changes I need to make to the bike - is there anything (not in print) that you think I need to be aware of ??

Offline 1212FBGS

• http://www.motobody.com
Complete novice ...
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2006, 12:16:40 PM »