Author Topic: land speed karts  (Read 2269 times)

Offline jim reed

• reedspeedcafracers.com
land speed karts
« on: August 13, 2015, 03:05:23 PM »
I am considering running a bike at the 2016 AMA event. I've been racing since 1967 in karts and on bikes in road racing. I ran on and off with ECTA during their time at Maxton on various bikes getting several now eclipsed records. I asked about running my laydown 250 shifter kart but was refused on the grounds it was unsafe. A definite load of bull as the kart has been run at Daytona between 1989-2008, winning at record lap speed (145mph through the tri oval) 9 times with narry a scratch to the driver. I also asked SCTA about running at Bonneville getting the same reply. I find it odd that a kart at 145 is unsafe but bikes doing over 250 on tires never intended for that speed (correct me if I'm wrong) is safe. Just wondering what the real reason for karts being excluded from lsr events. I know one of the land speed organizations allowed karts for a time but only if you did not go over 140. Since then they no longer allow karts.

Offline Seldom Seen Slim

• Nancy and me and the pit bike
  • Administrator
  • Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!
    • Nancy and Jon's personal website.
Re: land speed karts
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2015, 03:13:20 PM »
USFRA had karts running up 'til four or five years ago -- and I thought that since I hadn't seen any there in the past few years that it was a lack of interest.  If they don't allow them any more -- I dunno why.  I don't remember incidents that would have hexed participation.  I can understand why SCTA doesn't want them -- mostly because safety standards and classes would probably need to be defined and that's a bunch of work for a very few racers.

USFRA allows "non-standard" vehicles and the 130/150 Clubs and stuff like that to allow as many potential racers as possible to experience the salt.
Jon E. Wennerberg
 a/k/a Seldom Seen Slim
 Skandia, Michigan