Author Topic: Misting vs. Icing Radiator  (Read 19985 times)

Offline bdwilson24

• New folks
    • Eagle Works Advanced Vehicle Lab
Misting vs. Icing Radiator
« on: June 25, 2015, 03:24:28 PM »
I'm a mechanical engineering student that is part of a team designing an electric streamliner. I'm currently working on the cooling system. Since we're avoiding the use of air ducts, I'm trying to find the best method to cool all of our systems. After looking into what other teams have done in the past, I've noticed that a lot of people place their radiators in an ice/water bath, which is one of the options I'm considering.

Knowing that the heat of vaporization of water is much greater than the heat of fusion, I have also been considering misting water onto the radiator because the heat transfer rate would be higher, less water would need to be stored in a tank, and the amount of water in the car would become less during the run since it's evaporating.

Are there specific reasons why it is common to see radiators in an ice/water bath versus having water sprayed on a radiator to evaporate?

Offline ronnieroadster

Re: Misting vs. Icing Radiator
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2015, 05:05:24 PM »
The misting idea to me would seem like a safety issue. Would that damp vapor not eventually turn back to a liquid? Having a liquid leak inside the enclosed body can become a big issue and if any of the liquid gets outside the body the potential for spillage on the race surface would be a very dangerous thing.
 On our Land Speed vehicles any additional weight from a radiator inside a water tank would be used for additional ballast which in Land Speed Racing you will find is a good thing.
 Your thinking outside the box is exactly what we here on this forum are all about your question is very good and the overall application may well be approved good luck with the project.
Working in the shop I use the 'F' word a lot. No not that word these words Focus and Finish go Fast and Flathead Ford!