Author Topic: Able Dog Belly Tank  (Read 35849 times)

Offline Pickle

Able Dog Belly Tank
« on: February 07, 2015, 08:10:00 PM »
Well its been about a year now since I first found this site. I introduced myself then but have been silent since. Between the build diaries and the tech section there is such a wealth of information to sift through it has taken me this long to get through it all. Because its been so long Ill do a quick recap so there is no need to find my original post.

First for the formal stuff. I have a bachelors in physics from UCLA and a masters in astronautical engineering from USC (think rockets and satellites). Informally I am a contractor by trade and build cars on the side. This will be my first attempt at this type of car but its been a long time passion. I finished up a project about a year ago and have been taking care of the honey do list that kept growing during that project, but now its time to start another. I have a great wife she "gets it" and supports every project I do. I also am blessed with four kids all girls, our oldest is 10 and our youngest is 2. As a result of our large family I have more ingenuity and skill than finances and this project will reflect that.

Now for the good stuff. Armed with a rulebook and the basics I picked up here I went in search of a tank. After many months of looking most of the tanks I found were close to what I needed but nothing really fit the bill. Finally a few weeks ago I found my girl, she is a transfer tank from a Douglas AD-1. The AD-1 or Able Dog was first developed in 1947 and flew during the Korean war. Apparently it was a big nasty thing. I read it had a habit of consuming a gallon of oil an hour during flight. Anyway the tank is 300 gal and was belly mounted. It measures 165 inches long and 31 inches at its widest. Its widest point lands at the 40% cord point and its completely symmetric about its axis.