Author Topic: vehicle weight  (Read 10998 times)

Offline mxnuke

• New folks
vehicle weight
« on: January 19, 2015, 11:06:48 AM »
How does weight effect a car in the standing mile? With the car still pulling past 1 mile, is less vehicle weight better ? If you have traction. I'm new to this so i hate to ask but i want to give this a try [ i did a search first ]. Thanks

Offline fredvance

• FVANCE
    • Vance and Forstall Racing
Re: vehicle weight
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 01:34:26 PM »
In the standing mile, on pavement, less weight is better. The longer the track the less important weight is.
WORLDS FASTEST PRODUCTION MOTORCYCLE 213.470
Vance&Forstall Racing
WOS 2011 235+MPH
Engine by Knecum, Tuned by Johnny Cheese.
Sponsers Catalyst Composites, Johnny Cheese Perf, Knecum Racing Engines, Murray Headers, Carpenter Racing

Offline 55chevr

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2015, 02:54:13 PM »
The paved courses are basically a long drag race. I suggest launch hard and hold the higher gears to the red line before shifting.  The salt flats are another matter.  With 2 miles to get speed you can recover from a short shift and vehicle weight is less of a factor.

Joe

Offline greenjunk

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2015, 09:09:09 PM »
Not sure how much experience these guys have with cars, but i have not seen weight really matter.  I've seen 3000lb cars run the same speed as 4000lb cars.  What matters is aero, and traction.  Now I'll say i'm talking about cars capable of running over 190mph in the mile.  I can run within 1mph of a car with little aero and huge power as my car with lots of aero and little power.  I know this because we proved it each running 4 passes over 200mph in one meet.  Under 175 what actually matters is having the appropriate amount of tire spin off the line.  I don't quite understand the physics of it, but just like drag racing wheel spin yields MPH.  As much as 10mph could be had in a 150-160mph car.
David
213mph Time Bomb Camaro

Offline fredvance