Author Topic: Fwd facing Hood Scoop leaning out carburetors  (Read 11532 times)

Offline Leadfoot

Fwd facing Hood Scoop leaning out carburetors
« on: July 28, 2014, 01:00:50 PM »
Just wondering if anyone out there has had problems with carburetor's leaning out at speed ( 250 ) with a fwd facing Pro stock style hood scoop ? I keep richening the jetting and a couple cylinders (5-7 ) stay running Lean. I have plenty of room above the carbs and running 7 1/2 psi fuel pressure.

Offline SPARKY

• Global Moderator
Re: Fwd facing Hood Scoop leaning out carburetors
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2014, 01:07:10 PM »
I am not experienced with a Pro-Stock hood scoop but I would try it with an air cleaner of some type and see if it goes away--  I had a car that would pull hard at lower speeds and fell on it face as speeds increased---put an air cleaner on it and problem went away---yep---I changed the scoop.

-5-7 was the reason for a 4-7 swap on BBCs
Miss LIBERTY,  changing T.K.I.  to noise, dust, rust, BLUE HATS & hopefully not scrap!!

"Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."   Helen Keller

We are going to explore the racing N words NITROUS & NITRO!

Offline Leadfoot

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2014, 03:08:33 PM »
I do have a 4-7 swap cam. Has anybody tried putting a hose in between the vent tubes ??

Offline hotrod

• Black Horse photo
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2014, 09:24:38 PM »
I suspect you are setting up turbulence or a swirl inside the base of the scoop at speed.
Back in the 1960's - 70's Chrysler published plans for their ram air hood scoop used on the cars like Sox  and Martin

http://www.gilchristbnw.com/GPC/DR/PS/S%26M7201.jpg