Author Topic: Dry sump question  (Read 7127 times)

Offline Rocket123

• SaltSurfers
Dry sump question
« on: July 16, 2014, 11:27:40 AM »
First time with a dry sump. A rather expensive lesson trying to make wet sump work. I thought I bought a 4 stage pump but it is only 3 wanted to run 3 to the pan and 1 to the valve cover. What I am wondering is if I could split 1 line probably the one going to the front of the pan and run it to the breather also. help is appreciated.
Thank You, Rocket
http://www.SaltSurfers.com
Nothing succeeds like persistence. I hope!

Offline SPARKY

• Global Moderator
Re: Dry sump question
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2014, 11:54:16 AM »
another option might be to plumb the valve cover lines to the pan or to the fuel pump block off--

-no matter what you do--the stage you split is going to feed from the path of least resistance

I would just take a stage upstairs, if you feel like you have to-- but I have no personal knowledge, of going upstairs with a stage---

I run a four stage just like you with 3 on the pan and 1 pressure  I make sure it can drain back as well as I can get it to and just run 16 quarts at B'ville 
Miss LIBERTY,  changing T.K.I.  to noise, dust, rust, BLUE HATS & hopefully not scrap!!

"Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."   Helen Keller

We are going to explore the racing N words NITROUS & NITRO!

Offline Rocket123

• SaltSurfers
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2014, 12:50:06 PM »
sounds like I didn't know how to count stages and I do have a 4 stage pump 3 scavenge and 1 supply. plumbing the valve cover to the fuel pump block off plate sounds good to me, any other input welcome.
Thank You, Rocket

Offline Bob Drury

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2014, 12:52:38 PM »