Author Topic: Shifting at RPM or horsepower  (Read 11351 times)

Offline Mandi Engineering

• New folks
Shifting at RPM or horsepower
« on: June 24, 2014, 02:24:24 AM »
I am still new to LSR and have been curious what is the best way to go about shifting to reach my desired MPH. I will be using a motorcycle engine and wondering if I should shift closer to the RPM limit of 14,000 or where the horsepower peaks at 12,500. Reason I am confused is because I'm not sure if the extra rpm will help increase speed with % of tire slippage or if it just boils down to keeping the engine at peak horsepower to move through the air.

Offline RidgeRunner

Re: Shifting at RPM or horsepower
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2014, 07:54:23 AM »
      A lot depends on the shape of the horsepower curve and how fast the shift can be completed.  A flatter curve around peak HP as opposed to a radical spike and a quicker shift completion allows more leeway in shift points.  If the rpm's drop too low on the final shift they won't recover for max speed against the vehicles aero wall.

Ed

Offline SPARKY

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2014, 09:31:05 AM »
for max accel try not to fall back below peak TQ after shifts
Miss LIBERTY,  changing T.K.I.  to noise, dust, rust, BLUE HATS & hopefully not scrap!!

"Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing."   Helen Keller

We are going to explore the racing N words NITROUS & NITRO!

Offline Sumner

• Global Moderator
  • Blanding, Ut..a small dot in the middle of nowhere
    • http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sumner/sumnerindex.html
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2014, 11:21:38 AM »
for max accel try not to fall back below peak TQ after shifts

I have some spreadsheets on my site that will help with that....