Author Topic: Looking for supercharer draw through carb options  (Read 8580 times)

Offline Bugster

• New folks
Looking for supercharer draw through carb options
« on: May 08, 2014, 02:20:16 PM »
Hi.
I am a bit worried posting this on your forum, because this has nothing to do with land racing at all.
I found you guys when searching the web for info on selecting a carb for a supercharger set up on my Honda CB650 engined café racer project, and it seems like there is a lot of know how on tis site, so please forgive me if this out of line.
It seems like there is very little info on this to find, so I hope that if someone might be able to help, and that there might be something educational for others in this as well.
I have sent a few e-mails to some of the carb dealers that I could find, but no help so far.
Thing is, I am a bit of a noob when it comes to carbs. Have done some engine work in the past, but have never fully understood carbs.
I have not decided yet, because this is very early in this stage of the project, but I am considering an AMR300 or AMR500. (open for discussion here as well)
I don't want to do any internal work on the engine, so boost pressure will be kept at a level where I don't need to lower the compression. That's the idea so far at least.  
As mentioned this is a -82 CB650, 626cc, peak power @ 9000rpm.
One thing is to find a suitable carb, one other thing is something with vacuum stuff to ensure correct mix at low vs high rpm or at idle or flat out.
See, this is where I don't have a clue.
Hope you bear with me and have some sort of advice for the carb noob.
If I am totally off topic for this forum, I totally understand and will delete if needed.

Anders from Norway
« Last Edit: May 08, 2014, 02:22:44 PM by Bugster »

Offline Seldom Seen Slim

• Nancy and me and the pit bike
  • Administrator
  • Nancy -- 201.913 mph record on a production ZX15!
    • Nancy and Jon's personal website.
Re: Looking for supercharer draw through carb options