Author Topic: Open spool or posi-traction rear ends??  (Read 18320 times)

Offline Avanti Kid

• 2006 Member of Bonneville 200 MPH Club
Open spool or posi-traction rear ends??
« on: March 19, 2014, 08:55:45 PM »
Hi Guys and gals, I've been racing my Studebaker powered Avanti now for 20 years and set records that still stand at Bonneville, El Mirage and Muroc, but my question is: in your opinion which is better for racing at Bonneville, open spool or posi-type rear end. I only have used the open spool rear end but always wondered if the posi- rear end would give better traction on the salt thus a higher top end speed, what do you think?? thanks Dave
Original owner of 1963 Avanti; Age 84
2006 Bonneville 200 MPH Club Member
Canyon Country, CA
215.6 mph 289 CI Studebaker engine

Offline Sumner

• Global Moderator
  • Blanding, Ut..a small dot in the middle of nowhere
    • http://purplesagetradingpost.com/sumner/sumnerindex.html
Re: Open spool or posi-traction rear ends??
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2014, 09:57:34 PM »
...I've ... set records that still stand at Bonneville, El Mirage and Muroc,..... I only have used the open spool rear ....

I'm a little confused by "open spool rear".  Is it an open rear-end with spider gears or a spool?

I'll jump in and say there is no set answer.  In your case running in the low 200's on the 5 mile course I'd imagine you can reach your top speed regardless of the rearend and that the engine is probably the limiting factor.  Now if you are still accelerating in the final mile and you didn't get there faster since you were spinning the tires getting there then the options you mentioned need to be explored.

Myself if your times are traction limited I'd go with the GM 7.5 with the Torsen center ...

http://www.torsen.com/products/T-2.htm